Certified Vet Tech


My name is Kassie, and I’ve been with Veterinary Village since 2008. I started off as a veterinary assistant, then in 2010 I sat for my VTNE and became a certified veterinary technician. Beginning at age 9, I volunteered at a veterinary clinic in my home town of Spooner, WI. I was born and raised in Spooner, Wisconsin, then moved to Fond du Lac right after I graduated high school. Aside from working as a CVT, I also work part-time as an Advanced Emergency Medical Technician for North Fond Du Lac Fire Department. I have been doing EMS since 2009.

My hobbies include horseback riding, hunting, fishing, and really anything that is out doors. My special interests in veterinary medicine are surgery and radiology. I am currently in charge of our board-certified surgeon and radiologist that come once a month and do specialized procedures for us. I am currently owned by a golden retriever named Trekker, and recently married my husband Jeremy.


What motivated you to work in veterinary medicine?

I would have to say I got into veterinary medicine when I was only about8 years old. I wanted to help animals and make them feel better. I walked into the clinic that was across the street from the house where I grew up and asked if I could work there and the rest is history!

What has been your most rewarding moment working in veterinary medicine?

When I delivered a newborn foal. It had gotten stuck during birth and needed some help. Dawn dish soap is a wonderful thing. I then bottled fed the foal because it was premature and needed some extra TLC, he’s now 15 year old and sassy as ever!

If you weren’t working at a veterinary clinic, what would you do?

I would be a full-time paramedic. If I can’t help animals I want to help people!

What is the most exotic animal you have treated?

A 15 food Burmese python

What animal scares you more than any other?

Snakes. They slither and crawl and it just weirds me out in a bad way!

What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?

I was able to get licenses in both the 2 things I love doing most! Being a veterinary technician and also an emergency medical technician

What do you do in your spare time?

My newly found hobbies of hunting, fishing, most of all horse-back riding when I can, just about anything outdoors! I love to be active and having something to do and somewhere to go!

What is your favorite comfort food?

I would have to say is Mexican food!! Always seems to hit the spot!!

What is your biggest pet peeve?

…..Long nails on anything!!!

What animals do you currently have?

I am currently owned by my kitty Boosie and my golden retriever Trekker

If you were to come back as an animal, what would it be and why?

I would have to come back as a horse. They are such an athletic animal and are so pretty to watch

What is your favorite childhood movie and why?

The Lion King. I used to watch it all the time and had my Nala and Simba stuffed animal with magnetic noses so they could kiss

What is your favorite childhood memory?

When I was 13 and I finally got my own horse. I had been riding for a few years and begged and begged my parents to get me one and I finally broke them down when I was 13. His name was Glitz

Name 5 things people might be surprised about if they knew it about you?

1. I was Spooner Rodeo Princess in 2005 & 2007

2. I was born and raised in Spooner, WI and didn’t get my hunter’s safety until I was 24

3. I endurance raced my 2 Arabian’s. I would compete in 25 & 50 mile races

4. I have done all my own maintenance on my vehicles since I was 14

5. I worked construction with my step dad every summer since I was 9 and built, wired, and plumbed my barn and the 3 houses we lived in