After spending my early years in Cibeque, Arizona where my parents were teachers on the Apache Reservation, I grew up in southeastern Wisconsin.  I received a BS in microbiology from the University of Oklahoma. After graduation, I worked in mitochondrial research at the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation for a year before applying to vet school.  I graduated from Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1982. My college and vet school tuition was paid by working summers as a seasonal ranger for the National Park Service in Glacier National Park. While working at a veterinary clinic in Watertown, I met and married Jim Moore, a dairy veterinarian from Michigan State.  Since 1990, I have been working at Veterinary Village.


What motivated you to become a veterinarian?

I think almost every little child at some time wants to be a veterinarian! I grew up in a family of life-long learners who encouraged education and following your passion.

What has been your most rewarding moment as a veterinarian?

The most rewarding moment I have had as a veterinarian was to work with a dog that had tetanus. To see him walk, wag his tail and re-join his family after almost 3 weeks of rigidity, feeding tubes and intensive care was a thrill!

If you weren’t a vet, what would you do?

If I were not a veterinarian, I would love to be a photojournalist for National Geographic by day, illustrate children’s books in the evening, and be a museum curator on weekends.

What animal scares you more than any other?

Snakes frighten me more than any other animal–big snakes, little snakes, short ones, skinny ones, long ones…

What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?

Being a parent to Nathan, Bethel and Andrew has been the best part of life. I am not sure that is an accomplishment, but it has been an incredible joy to see them grow into young adults who have solid plans and visions for lives of service. Nathan is a medical student at University of Pittsburgh, Bethel just graduated as a nurse from UW-Eau Claire, and Andrew is an engineering student in cold country at Michigan Tech University.

What do you do in your spare time?

In my spare time, I volunteer time in the school library as well as in a gamut of other school and community projects. I enjoy reading and painting. We plant a massive garden (with over 60 heritage tomato plants) every year; I love to garden and preserve food. Our family loves to travel; we tend to travel without plans and have had wonderful experiences from driving the Alaskan Highway to participating in a coffee ceremony in Ethiopia!

What do you see as the greatest danger toward household pets?

I am concerned that overeating and lack of aerobic activity are leading to obesity and its subsequent problems in too many of our pets.

What is your favorite comfort food?


What is your biggest pet peeve?

My biggest pet peeve is when machines do not work. Perhaps if I understood them, I would not be so peeved when they break.

Name 5 things people might be surprised about if they knew it about you?